Skip to content

Onigiri with Egg Mimosa and Sakura Denbu

April 12, 2012

Took a different jogging route yesterday and ended up at the Governor’s mansion. Wow – the tulips were beautiful.  There are so many times when I wish I had a gardener too. When I got home, it took me at least 45 minutes to transplant some ferns in the back of the house, turn the compost and cut down some of the old canes in our raspberry patch. Nothing gets done fast, but it was pretty satisfying.

Back to bento – I love fresh fruits and veggies in bento. I splurged on a pack of asian-style cucumbers at Whole Foods yesterday and they are so good. (I am determined to find some Japanese cucumber seeds to grow in the garden). For this bento I made cucumber “fans” by trimming the sides to make them square, then slicing them into strips (but not all the way) and spreading the cut parts open.

Bento with blanched green beans and carrot flowers.

I read about the egg mimosa technique in Hideo Dekura’s Japanese Cooking at Home book. You take a cooked egg yolk and push it through a sieve. It has a fluffy appearance and a bright yellow color – nice! For the pink heart, I sprinkled sakura denbu made out of cod fish.

I always pack a few pieces of nori separately so the girls can wrap their onigiri at school and eat it without getting it all over their hands.

The kids are happy when they open up their bento and find onigiri, especially when it’s shaped like hearts and flowers.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

