Skip to content

Tofu Guacamole with Yuba Chips

May 1, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised today when the recipe that I thought about in my head actually turned out. Dried yuba makes really good chips. (Just a reminder, yuba is dried soymilk skin). I fried the dried yuba in oil and wow(!) it puffed up and fried in no time at all. A sprinkling of salt and I had a crunchy chip made from soymilk skin. I would almost consider it a health food if it wasn’t fried.

In a previous post, I reconstituted yuba in water first before using it in a stir-fry and as a wrapper for cooked vegetables. I also called it beancurd skin in that post.

The tofu guacamole should really be called tofu dip with avocado, but that didn’t sound nearly as appetizing. It has more tofu than avocado so the flavor of avocado is subtle, but it adds to the rich texture. The addition of soy sauce and miso makes the flavors stand out and the dip becomes more interesting. It’s a great compliment to fried yuba chips. The recipe for the tofu guacamole is adapted from The Book of Tofu by William Shurtleff and Akiko Aoyagi. I am loving this book full of tofu recipes both traditional and western.

Fried Yuba Chips

2 sheets of dried yuba, broken up into chip-sized pieces

1/4 vegetable oil for frying

Tofu Guacamole

12 ounces silken tofu, soft variety

1 medium avocado, peeled and chopped

1/4 cup red or yellow pepper, cut into small dice

2 tablespoons white miso paste

2 tablespoons garlic chives or green onions, minced

1 clove garlic, minced

1 teaspoon soy sauce

2 teaspoons fresh lime juice

1. Heat the oil in a wok or frying pan until hot. Add the yuba pieces in the hot oil, turning them over carefully to fry both sides. Remove them from the hot oil when they are puffed and lightly browned. This will only take 15 seconds, so be careful not to burn them. Drain on paper towels. They can be stored in an airtight container after they have cooled.

2. Push the tofu through a sieve to remove lumps and to make the tofu creamy. (A similar technique is used for making shiro-ae). Add the avocado to the tofu and mix them together. At this point, you can mash the avocado to make it more creamy. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well. Garnish with chives and sweet peppers. Serve with fried yuba chips or tortilla chips.

6 Comments
  1. elle permalink

    yuba chips! I love it, very creative 😀
    Beancurd is great for so many different recipes

  2. Healthy, beautiful and Vegan–great idea!

    • Thanks, Carol. I’ve been thinking about your family members a lot when I post something vegan. There are a lot of options for vegans that I didn’t know about. emi

  3. This is so inspiring! I adore yuba, but never dreamed of making chips out of them. I believe you just won yourself another blog subscriber with this. 😉

    • Thanks! What a coincidence because I am back at your site just now. I made amazake for the first time last night/this morning and wanted to make something and possibly, your vegan muffins with it because they look delicious. Even if I make something different, I can link to your recipe if you want. There aren’t that many recipes using amazake, do you think? Emi

Leave a Reply

